Tourist visa

Tourist Visa is issued to visit India for tourism purposes.  The visa is non-extendable and non-convertible. Change of purpose is not allowed. 

            Requirements :

o   Duly completed, printed and signed visa application form.

o   Two recent colour passport size (about 35mm x 35mm) photographs in colour showing full frontal face against a white background to be pasted on the application form.

o   Current valid passport with minimum of 190 days validity and must have minimum 2 blank pages.

o   The fee (Canadian passport holders) for 6 months Tourist Visa is C$62 + C$2/- (Consular Surcharge) = Total : C$ 64/-).  In addition, service charge of C$ 7.40 (inclusive of taxes) is payable to BLS International Services Canada Inc.  Please consult them about the total cost and the exact procedure for remitting the fee.

Processing Time :

            7 business days after receipt of application in the Consulate.


 Tourist Visa - Re-entry restrictions

The restrictions on repeat/consecutive visits into India on a Tourist Visa have been relaxed for foreign nationals. However, there should be a gap of at least 2 months between two visits to India on a Tourist Visa on re-entry of nationals of Afghanistan, China, Iran, Pakistan, Iraq, Sudan, Maldives, foreigners of Pakistan origins and Stateless persons.

This stipulation of two months gap does not apply on any other type of visa, i.e. Business (B) or Entry (X) types of visas. It also does not apply to PIO and OCI card holders.

Tourist Visa on arrival for certain countries

A Tourist holding valid passport of the following eleven countries will be issued a Tourist Visa on-arrival, subject to certain conditions, valid for up to 30 days with single entry at Delhi/Mumbai/ Chennai/ Kolkata airports:

These countries are: Finland, Luxemburg, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Philippines and Vietnam.

For more details, please visit the website of the Ministry of Home Affairs, New Delhi (Foreigners Division under the heading (Foreigners, Tourist and Visa)-